Sabbath School starts in 10 minutes but I only woke up 20 minutes ago. I’ll be late! I usually don’t set an alarm Sabbath morning, but sometimes it gets me in a pickle. I wanted to make it early this week, but apparently my body needed the sleep! I also am not going to trying to rush out of here to make it… after all… that’s not restful! 🙂

I just felt like hopping on here and saying Happy Sabbath and sharing some verses that meant a lot to me this week. I’ve been reading John.

John 5

39 You study the Scriptures diligently because you think that in them you have eternal life. These are the very Scriptures that testify about me, 40 yet you refuse to come to me to have life.

I like this verse because it reminds me that the Bible is a means to getting to know God and not an end in and of itself.

John 6

37 All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away.

How beautiful! – Jesus never drives me away.

40 For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day.”

God’s will – Now that wasn’t so hard to figure out! 🙂

John 7

The world cannot hate you, but it hates me because I testify that its works are evil.

I believe that as Jesus followers this is part of our calling too – to testify against evil with a righteous life. And not be surprised when hated for it.

John 8

31 To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. 32 Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

Is there really such a thing as objective, solid, unchanging truth? Definitely! But I don’t think that any one person or group can ever have a monopoly on it. Once you find a part of it, you realize there so much more to explore, free indeed!

44 You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies. 45 Yet because I tell the truth, you do not believe me! 46 Can any of you prove me guilty of sin? If I am telling the truth, why don’t you believe me? 47 Whoever belongs to God hears what God says. The reason you do not hear is that you do not belong to God.”

The devil is the father of lies. That’s really his only tool. I become a lot more encouraged when I remember this!

John 10

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

Another promise to cling to – life to the full.

John 12

44 Then Jesus cried out, “Whoever believes in me does not believe in me only, but in the one who sent me. 45 The one who looks at me is seeing the one who sent me. 46 I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness.

🙂

Better be off to church now!

~christy~

