So this post will be a little closer to my heart and open than I usually get online, but as I started pondering this question and writing my answer, I was impressed that I just had to share it right away somehow. Hello blog. πŸ™‚

I’ve been attending a Celebrate Recovery for the past month or so and it’s been so great for me. Just a place to be heard and seen, no one puts expectations or tries to fix. There are workbooks that I’ve started going through and this morning this one question just stood out to me and as I was answering it, it just felt like such an “aha!” moment.

what do you believe about God? What are some of His characteristics?

I believe that He sees me. That he follows my life – knows all about my choices and actions and understands what’s going on in my head and my heart fully and deeply, in a way I never can. He knows me intimately, inside out. I believe He wants to help me, to be close to me. He is faithful and loyal. He is encouraging, empathetic, and dependable. He is so very intelligent and kind and gentle and strong. He won’t do anything to permanently harm me, and He will never lie to me. He respects me and will never violate my free will and that includes when I hurt him, reject His ways and don’t listen to Him and end up suffering the natural consequences. He is always willing to be beside me in my struggles with self and sin and to heal me, giving me His power to overcome. He loves me jealously and tenderly. He wants to protect me and provide for me. He is trustworthy and forgiving, never holding my mistakes and moments of unfaithfulness against me. He is patient, always ready to act on my behalf, and eager to be known and teach me about myself. He wants me to become everything He gave me the desire to be. He listens to me, enjoys me, and has compassion on me.

What struck me was that while this is the honest answer that came up out of my heart, it’s so very easy for me to disregard and get preoccupied in fear and denial and attempts at self-protection. So many little things I fret about become clearer in this light. I find it a major relief to have what I really believe out in front of my awareness. May I not forget again!

Thank you for reading. πŸ™‚

