I woke up this morning, and one of the first coherent things that popped into my head was “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ who in his mercy, he has given us new life!”

Love it when something actually makes me want to jump out of bed right away, so I did, and went and did a little Bible Gateway search to find this verse. Here is the full passage that struck me when I found it:

1 Peter 1:3-5

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade. This inheritance is kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time.

I LOVE IT! 🙂 Such a wonderful promise. It has me thinking. It definitely instills a feeling of hope in me, but more than that, gratefulness. And I’m starting to see just how important cultivating a spirit of gratefulness is. Is gratitude considered a virtue? I think it is in any case. I’ve had this inner tug of war going on for years between being afraid of becoming prideful and going to the other extreme of discounting everything that would be proper for me to take some pride in. Learning how to be truly grateful has really helped me just cut right through that nonsense. I think gratefulness and humility go hand in hand. Does it sound a little funny to say “I am humbled by my faith in Jesus Christ”? Well, I am. Humbled because I’m so immensely grateful.

I feel like this is the Easter thought I vaguely wanted to post last weekend, but didn’t know what to say! Better late than never. 🙂 Happy Sabbath everyone! May you palpably feel His rest and delight in you today!

~christy~

