So yeah. Yesterday, I woke up with a slightly scratchy throat and runny nose, but other felt fine, I thought perhaps it’s just a tinge of allergies and will go away. No. I felt progressively worse as the day went on. So did one other guy in my office. And I’m pretty sure we got it from this other guy in my office who was sick end of last week/this week.

So I slept really fitfully last night, but let me tell you… delirious dreams are pretty funny, I kept dreaming I needed to draw a detail of my cold. Like picturing one of those medical diagrams that shows a cut right through the middle of your head and all the nasal passages and throat etc. And I kept cataloging everything I felt with down the side with little arrows drawn to point to the right spot. Sore throat. Coughing. Sneezing. Headache. Joint ache. Runny nose. Watery eyes. Pressurized ear canals.

There was a lot going on today I’m sad to miss out on at church, but ugh. There is no way I’m going. I have no energy and I’m not spreading germs.

Part of me hates to be sick alone, part of me likes it that way. I think the worst thing about this cold is the way my ears feel. I had a really bad cold a couple years ago, and I had to fly with it, and that just made it so much worse, and I lost my voice for a bit and my hearing was really affected. This feels like that time, almost. I swear that time did something to my ear canals, ever since then they just pop more and get stuffed up more and get sore like now. It like…radiates down into the sides of my neck a little. Anyway, maybe this all TMI, but I had to whine somewhere! It’s too early in CA to call my parents. 🙂

I hope everyone else is in tip top shape, and that this is a really short lived cold. At least I’m not missing work this time. This is day of very literal rest for me!

~christy~

