IMG_8796

For a change of tone here on my corner of the internet, I am sharing my breakfast adventure of making eggless waffles! Because I love waffles, and I had a hankering for them this morning BUT I’ve also recently started abstaining from eggs as well as dairy, at least in my eating at home. Deciding to do THAT probably deserves it’s own post just because I thought it was something I never thought I’d do! I LOVE EGGS. And yet… verbose story in brief… I was convinced they should be enjoyed very sparingly for the better of my body. So far I’m not really missing them in stove top cooking, but when it comes to baking it’s proving more of a challenge.

So I turned to Google. And after reading three or four different vegan waffle recipes and a you tube tutorial on waffles with only oats and a banana and water, this is what I came up with:

IMG_8798

looks normal right?!

Christy’s Eggless Waffles – Take One

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup oat flour (I ground up old-fashioned oats in my Magic Bullet)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup water
IMG_8808

Yield: 5 waffles (this picture is minus the one already in my tummy)

IMG_8801

Verdict: Better than I was afraid of!! I’d give them a 7.5 out of 10. They were a little bland flavor wise by themselves, but with toppings that didn’t matter at all. They were not also not quite so fluffy/spongy/moist, but again, I kind of expected that. IMG_8804

Next time I have a hankering for waffles, I will tweak this again and try equal portions all-purpose flour and ground oats, applesauce instead of oil, unsweetened almond milk instead of water, leave out the sugar, and perhaps add some extras like blueberries, bananas, chopped pecans, or all three!

Let me know if anyone decides to try this and what you think!

IMG_8806

