2014 went by so fast. SO FAST!

But, I’m happy a new year is here. 2014 was pretty quiet and steady for the most part, and I’m looking forward to making some things happen in 2015.

I follow author John Townsend on Facebook, and this week he posted this on his page:

What do you really want out of life? What do you have passion and desire for, that would be good for you and good for the world? You were designed with special competencies to do special things, that is just how you are made. But it’s dealing with the weeds that keep us from accomplishing things we would love. What are your weeds? A relationship that is a black hole? A lack of energy? Fear of repeating past failures? Being a caretaker for the entire world? Here is a tip: You don’t have to solve all those weeds before you get to what you love. In fact, if you try to solve them first, you’ll never get to “you.” So do this instead. Take out your calendar and input 2 hours in the next 2 weeks that are about the dream, whatever it is. Preserve the time, fight for it, insist on it. You’re the only you that you have. Then use those 2 hours to work on the dream. People who accomplish great things do them first, and solve the “weeds” second. There will always be weeds. So get to the passion first.

I instantly connected with this idea and frame of mind. And it is very very actionable. It is what I want my 2015 to be about: passion first, weeds second. I am currently thinking about ways I can keep this thought and objective in my attention this year.

I’ve already printed it out and taped it in the front of my planner. I may also put it in my bathroom medicine cabinet to see in the mornings. And although I had this idea before I read this quote, I think they work together perfectly. I am going to make a table where each box represents one area of life I want to grow in or put time and energy into and kind of make the opposite of a to do list. It’s a done list! It’s not a high pressure thing like I aim to fill up each sheet with multiple things in each box each week, but those empty boxes will be a small bit of mental tension and motivation and a helpful reality check and tool for evaluation.

Here are the areas I think I am going to go start with:

    • Financial
    • Physical
    • Relational
    • Intellectual
    • Spiritual
    • Emotional
    • Architectural
    • Creative
    • Charitable
    • Fashion

I tried to make them all end with ‘al’ but alas, lol!

I’m really looking forward to 2015! Here’s to a new year anticipating good things!

~christy~

