1 John 3:18-20

Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth. This then is how we know that we belong to the truth, and how we set our hearts at rest in his presence whenever our hearts condemn us. For God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything.

~

I really try to absorb this verse every time I read it because I identify with the feeling of “having my heart condemn me” all the time. God is greater than my heart. My feelings and the moods I can get preoccupied in and the things I am afraid are true about myself are not actually the final verdict on who I am. Which is such a relief to be reminded of! I can’t adequately put it all into words, all the times that come to mind when I think about where and when this applies in my life. Know they seem like many. But God knows them all and is greater than all of them. I don’t know how to love myself well a lot of the time, but at least I can accept that I am loved, and take action in my life from that vantage point instead. Indeed, being actively loved is a powerful change agent.

~christy~

