I’m a few weeks late, so I feel like I’m not truly capitalizing on all the new year fervor, but that’s kind of how 2016 is starting for me, slowly. Like it’s not just a one time event, but I’m easing in. It also helps that my birthday is at the end of January and so the whole month has this newness feel to it.

Anyway, I’ve been missing writing. And was surprised, but somehow not surprised at the same time, to log in here and see my last post was in August. Confession: I’ve also been writing in my journal less these days, and I’m just wondering … have I just run out of things to write about?

But this year is the milestone birthday of turning 30, and I want to keep writing as a part of my life in my new decade. You know, honestly, I’m excited to be turning 30. I’m like…relieved in a strange way. Like…I had all these expectations and dreams about my 20s when I was going into them, and now that I’m on the other side where so little of what I thought would happen and wanted to happen actually happened, I am just so so grateful for everything I’ve learned these last ten years, and I’m ready to carry the lessons and apply them.

I always love it when there is a short period of time, say a week or two or three days, where I come across several different resources that all boil down to the same message and seem to just underscore each other as something I really should pay attention.

This time, I think it was the week before and after new year’s that I read a couple articles that had been posted by others on facebook and had a couple conversations that have boiled down to this one action goal for myself this year:

Embrace the struggle.

Accept the process of pursing goals, decide that what I want is worth doing what it takes to get there. Take the risk of being vulnerable about what I want, and retrain my brain’s reaction to failure. Reorient my emotional response to failure and get back up again. I want to be resilient and trust my talents and skills. I want to put energy into areas of life that I haven’t plucked up the courage for yet. Focus on the process, and decide to enjoy it.

Maybe this is a little cryptic, but please forgive me, I am easing back into world of putting inner thoughts into public view. Suffice it to say, I am looking forward to 2016 and 30. 🙂

Happy (belated) New Year!

~christy

